Skip To Main Content

Charles "Troop" Petrone Scholarship

In 1967 Troop Petrone joined the Pasadena High School faculty after spending 3 years with the Peace Corps teaching in Mali, Africa.  During the 21 yeas he was at Pasadena High School he was very active in both PEA and later PFT; was involved in Phi Delta Kappa, eventually becoming its president; he chaired many committees at both the school and district level; taught all levels of classes from reading and proficiency English to the Advanced Placement classes; and chaired the English department for many years.

During his last 5 – 7 years at Pasadena High School, Troop’s interest in language took him to his favoriteMexico City where he was able to become proficient in the Spanish language.  This enabled him to become a very good ESL teacher.  It was typical of Troop to immerse himself in a subject and to love it.  He had a wide variety of interests including photography, writing, translating poetry, gourmet cooking and he was a voracious reader of almost all kinds of books.  He was vitally interested in people and cultures and was very good with young people because he was such an interested person.

Charles “Troop” Petrone passed away in March 1990 at the age of 48.  In his memory, his many friends, colleagues and students set up a scholarship in his name.  This scholarship is for a graduating senior whose presence stimulates a pleasant learning atmosphere, a willingness to accommodate others’ viewpoints, shows an enthusiasm for learning and an interest in literature beyond the mere merit of the work.

Year Awarded To
1991       Cybele Lyle          
1992 Hanako Yamamuru
1993 Janette Girod    
1994 Leticia Alonso
Tracy Wood  

Terra Chase
Shana Coffe

1996 Wyatt Bernthal
Aikoush Virabial
1997 Hoorig Nassasian
Kseniya Tikhomirova
1998 Hayward  Kjelsrom
Shirley Pakling Wan
1999 Marsha Batson
Milena Nelson
2000 Ka-Ying (Monica) Chu
Devon Lucy

Beatriz Verdin
Weiye Xu

2002 Victoria Maria Ramos
Stephanie Zelaya

Alexsander Overholt
Mario Ruiz

2004 Khatchadour Khatchadoruian
2006 Brian Le
2007 Nereida Arteaga
2008 Lindsay Ong
2009 No award given
2010 Alexandria Rozario
2011 No award given

Erika Townsend
Esther Trigueros
Robin Hopkins
Connor Spears
Madeline Pirrone